10 Days of Halloween: Day 5 – Food Fit to be Eaten by Candlelight

Hello ghouls and monstrosities! 

It’s that time of year again – Halloween! 

I will be posting ten posts all about Halloween, counting up to the night itself! 

Comment below, follow me and enjoy! 

Muhahahahaha 

SanMo - Halloween - Pumpkin - JackoLantern 7

~ * ~ 

So, food. 

Yep – I know what you’re thinking: Halloween is all about the candy! And to some extent, you’re right: we’ve fostered this idea of trick-or-treating into the hearts of every school-aged child in North America, certainly. And who doesn’t love candy? The stuff is made of sugar and sugar is addictive. Also, chocolate. What else needs to be said?

Well, as you get older, and you will get older, and trick-or-treating becomes something the “little kids” do, you’re probably going to eventually want to throw some sort of party. Halloween themed costume party with kegs And streamers in bright orange. And a line up of suspiciously carved pumpkins.

And when that time comes … well, here are a few ideas for your food bash:

This weekend, I made a dark chocolate fudgey cake with a glaze (that unfortunately did not work out well) and chocolate scary trees.

Here was my piece:

IMG_20141025_174413

I’ll post the recipe at the bottom of the post – it’s a super rich, decadent cake, perfect for a small party, but pretty easy to level up for more people. The trees were made by melting dark chocolate and then pouring it into a piping bag, before drawing on trees onto wax paper I had run over a cookie sheet. Then I put them in the freezer for a few hours to set. In my excitement I totally dropped the tray and only three trees made it out in tact. That was one of them. The key to making them work out – draw the outlines of your tree, fill it in, then go over it once or twice more. Trust me – it works better that way.

If you are not feeling chocolate cake (really?) Then how about:

Cheese Dip Mummy?

DSC02432

I made this for that party I mentioned back in 2010. Basically, I creamed together a package of light cream cheese and a package of goat cheese (about 2 parts cream cheese to each part goat cheese), I then added about 2 cloves of minced garlic (small cloves), pepper and a little pinch of salt and mixed until creamy. I also added some green peppers, chopped and some green olives as well as half a small jar of capers, but you can make it your own. Then I refrigerated it for an hour or two before taking it out and shaping it into a mummy. The “bandages” were piped from a ziploc bag I snipped the end off of, after filling it with some more beaten cream cheese – about 3/4 of a package. 

After all that, I surrounded it with a halo of carrots, celery and crackers (I tried to make it look like a sun throne … the jury’s out on that) and kept it cool until party time! 

I also drew some faces on tangerines for “mini jack-o-lanterns” and emptied out the insides of pumpkin and made a punch bowl! 

Need some more inspiration? 

Here are some great bites I’ve found around the net that will be making the rounds at my next party: 

Definitely a step up from my previous jack-o-lantern tangerines.

Also, Not Martha – excellent blog! Beyond amazing!

Amazing!

Anything that includes warm brie is a good thing

 

Fudgey Chocolate Cake 

2 eggs, separate the yolk and whites 

4 oz dark chocolate 

1/2 cup sugar

2.5 tbsp butter

2 tbsp espresso coffee

1/4 c. flour

pinch of salt 

  1. Oven to 350F

  2. In a baine-marie, put the chocolate, sugar and butter and melt. Once liquid, remove from heat, and wait a few minutes for the mixture to cool. Then, add the two yolks and the espresso to the mix and stir until absorbed. 

  3. Fold in the flour.

  4. In the electric mixture, place the egg whites and a pinch of salt. Whisk until glossy peaks form. 

  5. Stir in half the egg whites mixture into the chocolate, then fold in the rest until it looks uniform. 

  6. Pour into a prepared 6-inch cake tin. 

  7. Bake for 35-40 minutes or so. Check it at the 30 minute mark. 

  8. Let cool and serve (you can also make a glaze by melting about equal quantities of dark chocolate and cream together and then whisking in a tbsp or 2 of corn syurp. Wait until cool, then pool over cake). 

 

 

Leave a Reply

