Recipe: No Churn Vanilla (or Chocolate!) Ice Cream

That’s right: No special equipment required!

Interested? I think so …

 IMG_20140807_182026If you’re like us – the Boy and I – you love ice cream in any weather – rain, snow, sun, wind, whatever! – and at any temperature. The idea of facing a wall of ice cream at the grocer’s is both wonderful and a little intimidating. And the curious paging through other blogs for recipes ends up with you wanting to try out a cone of toast ice cream or feta ice cream.

Nothing, however, can beat the classics: vanilla and chocolate. Though you certainly can add to them. My favourite thing to add to a vanilla ice cream is honey and peanut butter. Actually, my favourite thing to add to chocolate ice cream is peanut butter too … I think maybe I should look into peanut butter ice cream …

The one problem with ice cream at home is that it usually takes a lot of special equipment. An ice cream maker, for starters. And until very recently (like last Friday) I didn’t have one, which meant that most of my ice cream attempts were … pretty … not like the ice cream I wanted. Too hard so I couldn’t scoop it out properly, or too dry, or plagued with too many ice crystals. In any way, none of those would be anything to brag about.

My grandmother makes a mean ice cream – it’s my special dessert, whenever I have any big life events (or now that I live so far away whenever I come home) there is always a tupperware in her freezer of what I call MY Ice cream. It’s a Portuguese one with cream, egg, sweetened condensed milk and bolachas (re. digestive biscuits). It’s a gelado (please don’t say “gel – at – oh” it hurts my ears) pronounced “gel-ah-doo”, called by my grandmother Congelado Bom (re. Good Gelado, or Ice cream) and is a decedent, very Portuguese type of ice cream.  It is like heaven in my mouth and I can never get enough of it. I am lucky enough that she gave me the recipe for it a while ago, but since the Boy usually frowns at me doubtfully whenever I mention eggs in ice cream, I haven’t had the chance to try it out myself … soon though ….

Then I stumbled on a recipe for a no-special-equipment-needed ice cream and thought to myself, “Heh, might as well try it out.”. So I did.

avo's icecream

It’s pretty simple, here’s what you need:

  • 1 can of sweetened condensed milk
  • 1-2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1-2 tsp bourbon
  • 2 cups cream, whipped
  1. First, add the milk, vanilla and bourbon to a bowl and mix it thoroughly.

  2. Next whip that cream until stiff peaks form (keep an eye on it – as I learned this year from making my own butter, if you whip the cream too long, you won’t have cream any longer but butter solids and buttermilk). Stiff peaks are “stiff” because they hold their shape, so what I do is turn off the mixture, raise the whip attachment and see if the cream stuck to the whisk droops. If it does, those aren’t stiff peaks yet. If they don’t droop but stay in perfect formation, those are stiff peaks, move onto step 3.

  3. Fold the milky mixture into the creamy mixture with a spatula.

  4. Pour the whole thing onto a shallow dish, cover with plastic wrap (you want to have the plastic wrap skimming the surface of the mixture) and put in a freezer for 4 to 6 hours.

IMG_20140804_190657

There you have it!

Super simple ice cream and all you need is a whisk, a spatula, a couple of bowls, some plastic film and a shallow dish. And a freezer, though that went without saying …

Some tips for you:

  • Don’t be afraid of high fat dairy. It makes a better ice cream.

  • That being said, if you can’t do dairy, don’t be afraid of high fat coconut milk – trust me, it works pretty damned well.

  • If the cream is cold when you start whipping it, the whipping will happen faster.

  • For chocolate: Add roughly 3 to 5 tbsp of cocoa powder (and a pinch of salt) to the milky mixture and stir before incorporating it all. We like chocolate so I experimented with it a little bit, and this was the easiest way. I am going to try and different type of chocolate ice cream soon and will report back!

  • For additions (like nuts): fold these in after you’ve folded the milky mixture into the creamy mixture.

  • After about 2 or 3 hours, the consistency of the ice cream should be like a soft serve. You can eat it then or keep waiting. I made enough so that we could do both.

 

There you have it! Ice cream from your own kitchen!

Have you got any tips and tricks for making ice cream?

 

Leave a Reply

