Friday Bits & Bobs: Art on the Walls

Fresco.

Fresco.

On Thursday we went to the Venice Art Crawl and I was inspired.

Art. Let’s be clear: I am not an artist. I dabble, I doodle, I even pretend to know what I am talking about on occasion when in an art gallery.

But I am no artist.

I sometimes think I can be … then go back to my study materials.That being said: I love art. All kinds – performance art, tangible art, spoken word and transient works. I love words – written or drawn or sang, and I love the creativity that people hold when they think about anything – from little things like a day in their own life, to large things, like a revolution.

Art is, for me, the thing that separates us from mere robots: through art, through creative expression and through that whole process of going from idea to expression, we are reinterpreting the world around us, thinking it through in new ways and coming out the other side with something.

There’s good art, bad art; high art, low art; art for a specific purpose and art for no reason at all. But it’s all still art.

Monologue, ended.

~ * ~

Currently, it is very hot up in Southern California (yes I know, it generally is hot …)

So my usual outfit of tee shirt + cardigan is not doing it …

Seriously, I sweated through my linen shirt at my monthly art class on Wednesday.

Sweated through.

I know, I know – TMI

And yet! It made me think I should probably get my butt in gear vis-a-vis tank tops and more airy breathable fabrics.

But … I am still not a fan of showing much upper arm. So …

This cardigan like thing.

Light, airy and will one day get me over my upper arm fear … maybe.

I am buying one, anyway. Besides, it goes with nearly everything.

 

~ * ~

Hint: the "kitchen sink" part - does not actually include a kitchen sink.

Hint: the “kitchen sink” part – does not actually include a kitchen sink.

So, I love recipes online. Love trolling blogs and youtube for new recipes to try out and then post on instagram. 

All types of recipes – cakes? Yes. Chicken bakes? Yup! Complicated French named dishes with muscle and wine? Of course!

The one exception: Sandwiches.

I mean… what recipe is needed? Take two (or more, if you’re gutsy) slices of bread, put stuff between them, eat.

Then I made a Tuna-Salad-and-the-Kitchen-Sink Sandwich earlier this week for a quick dinner and the Boy was all like “This is the best sandwich ever!” and I thought to myself, “I need to post this!!!”

… and now I understand why people post sandwiches recipes.

That is all.

 

~ * ~

And how did I never think of this? Brilliance at the link:

 

~ * ~

Definition of a Feminist n GIF form

Your feminism-inspired weekly read:

A new video by Anita Sarkeesian.I am not a gamer girl … but this terrifies me. And I think everyone should give it a look. 

A flowchart to help those confused about when they can blame women for their rapes.

Not generally a fan of the NY Times (gasp!), but this article caught my attention … even if the material is sort of common sense.

Also – how is this possible?
 

~ * ~

This is why I love Venice.

This is why I love Venice.

Other things that caught my fancy:

Why yes, I am totally thinking of ways to use Jamais-vu (which seems, you know, french) now … check out 65 other reasons English is cool here.

Found a new site that gives lectures on bits of history. LOVE! Here’s their latest on the Boxer Rebellion.

Another new thing I found this week: This Youtube Channel. Love this woman. I got to her from this video.

 

Am so making this recipe for Tuna Tartar from The Londoner.

And well, this terrified me pretty good … seriously, 1984 people?

 

 

Have a Wonderful weekend!

AmmyB

Leave a Reply

