My Weekend + A Chicken Bake Recipe

Hey guys.

This weekend was a study and veg out weekend.

We got in a few errands, a new plant, and some cooking, but ultimately our main entertainment was watching the second season of “Angel” and something called “Rapture Palooza”

Here are the pictures (stay to the end for my adaptation of Nigella Lawson’s Spanish Chicken):

Remember how I made butter? Well, I used the buttermilk byproduct of the butter making to make yummy pancakes!

Remember how I made butter? Well, I used the buttermilk byproduct of the butter making to make yummy pancakes!

... and humidity meant that I left my hair curly for the first time in a while ... I sort of missed it. Weird, no?

… and humidity meant that I left my hair curly for the first time in a while … I sort of missed it. Weird, no?

... And I found this little guy. I had a little melt-my-heart-happy-dance moment. It was adorable.

… And I found this little guy. I had a little melt-my-heart-happy-dance moment. It was adorable.

New shoes!!! Yay! I can be tall again!

New shoes!!! Yay! I can be tall again!

And The Boy got me some Macaroons on his beer run, so I made myself a failed capp and dug in!

And The Boy got me some Macaroons on his beer run, so I made myself a failed capp and dug in!

Breakfast Sunday morning is my fave. This time we had bacon, eggs and oatmeal scones. Well ... I had the scones. They turned out really good!

Breakfast Sunday morning is my fave. This time we had bacon, eggs and oatmeal scones. Well … I had the scones. They turned out really good!

We added a Pineapple Sage plant to our garden! It smells and tastes divine! So excited!

We added a Pineapple Sage plant to our garden! It smells and tastes divine! So excited!

And now: Spanish Chicken!

And now: Spanish Chicken!

Just out of the oven. Recipe below.

Just out of the oven. Recipe below.

And for those who love salad: watercress, arugula salad with toasted walnuts, goat cheese, avocado and pitted cherries. So yum ...

And for those who love salad: watercress, arugula salad with toasted walnuts, goat cheese, avocado and pitted cherries. So yum …

 

Spanish Chicken Bake

adapted from Nigella Lawson

Ingredients:

  • Olive Oil
  • Chicken Thighs
  • Chicken “chorizo” mini sausages
  • 6 potatoes, cut into quarters
  • Half a Red Onion, cut into strips
  • Oregano
  • Zest of a small Orange
  • Salt & Pepper

Directions

  1. Oven to 400F
  2. Drizzle olive oil over a baking dish.
  3. Swirl Chicken thighs skin-down on the pan, then turn them skin up
  4. Between the chicken thighs, toss the little sausages
  5. Between the chicken and sausages, toss the potato wedges.
  6. Sprinkle the top with red onion, tucking strips in between the other things where you can.
  7. Pinch of salt and pepper over top, then follow with a healthy dose of oregano and some orange zest.
  8. Into the Oven for about an hour or so. (Gives you enough time to make a salad, chill the wine and start on some chocolate lava cakes)
  9. Take it out, let it cool for ten minutes or so, and serve!
  10. Enjoy!

 

 

How was your weekend?

 

Leave a Reply

