Hate Flipping Pancakes? A Dutch Baby May be For You!

As I think anyone who has ever glimpsed at my Instagram feed would gather – I love breakfast. Or Brunch. Or a combinaton of both.

I love pastries, scrambled eggs, crispy toast, golden hashbrowns, variations of fruit salad, thick yogurt, the trio of coffee-tea-juice/mimosas and all the rest.

It’s honestly my favorite meal of the day.

And at the top of it is pancakes.

I love pancakes.

Basic Dutch Baby. Just add syrup

Basic Dutch Baby.
Just add syrup

They’re pretty versatile – what with their utter base simplicity, you can add buttermilk, yoghurt, berries, chocolate chips, sprinkled – you name it! And on top of being versatile, there are very few ways your experimentation can ruin a crop of pancakes.

That is, unless you’re me. And you’re me, in charge of flipping them.

I suck lemons at flipping pancakes. I just do. I have never managed to develop that grace that comes with flipping pancakes, and now at the ripe old age of twenty-eight, I am thinking I may never.

Which, I guess, is why I was lucky enough to fall in love with a guy whose best quality in the kitchen is having the patience and calm to flip pancakes.

However, there are days when he is unavailable and I still want pancakes for breakfast.

I can pancake muffins or a dense pancake skillet cake, but with a bunch of eggs to use up I decided on something I happened to see when browsing Joy the Baker a few months ago: A Dutch Baby.

IMG_20140601_082918

Adorable sounding, right?

A Dutch Baby (or German Pancake) is basically a whipped-egg heavy version of a pancake that is poured into a hot skillet and put into an oven in order to puff up.  The batter requires very little effort, the puff lasts only a minute or so, and it can be topped with anything your heart fancies – which for me, it being fig season, meant fruit salad.

Have I got you interested?

Alright, here’s my recipe (adapted from Joy the Baker) for a Dutch Baby, for your next weekend brunch:

 

Dutch Baby IMG_20140601_082902

(Serves 2 starving, just out of bed people)

  • 3 eggs, at room temperature 
  • 2/3 cup 2% milk, at room temperature
  • 2/3 cup flour
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter

 

  1. Oven to 425F.

  2. In stand mixer, or with a hand blender, whisk eggs until frothy and the yellow colour is more pastel, less vibrant. I did about 3 minutes on the Medium-High setting of my stand mixer.

  3. While the mixer is going, put milk, flour, cinnamon and salt into a bowl and whisk. Add this now to the frothy eggs.

  4. Whisk everything until it’s a liquidy, homogenous batter.

  5. While that’s whisking, put your skillet on a burner with your knob of butter and let that melt down.

  6. Once the batter is ready, take the skillet off the burner and pour the batter directly into the skillet.

  7. Place skillet into oven and set your timer for 20 minutes.

  8. While that’s baking, cut up the fruit you want to go on top, rinse it and grab some icing sugar.

  9. When the Dutch Baby is ready to come out you will see it has puffed up considerably – oggle it a bit, then set to work: throw your fruit on top, and then dust the top with icing sugar.

  10. Serve warm.

 

And there you have it!

What kind of breakfast foods are your go to?

AmmyB

 

Leave a Reply

