My Weekend – A 2-Week Long Weekend Recap

This weekend was a mix of studying, errands and baking.

Deer at Pepperdine

Deer at Pepperdine

Having little to no time to shop last week, we got to Friday night and decided, hell – why not go out for some sushi? We looked up a place down on Colorado called Ninjin.

Oh My Goodness.

I cannot get over the yumminess at this place.

Customary Tea.

Customary Tea.

Fried Rice with Spicy Tuna - Sorry for the poor quality -

Fried Rice with Spicy Tuna
– Sorry for the poor quality –

Yeeessss

Yeeessss

If you’re in Santa Monica and craving sushi – I highly recommend this place.

Then we went home and passed out in a delicious food coma.

… And woke up Saturday morning ready for our weekly walk about.

This week we strolled down to the market, past all the palm trees …

IMG_20140531_101514

And through to the beautiful figs.

IMG_20140531_102138

Am obsessed.

All the way to the cliffs where the squirrels scared the crap out of me by popping out of a little hole in the ground.

IMG_20140531_131458

And then we went to our favourite little bakery cafe for some early brunch.

IMG_20140531_110159

This time, I had the pain perdu (french toast) and the Boy had a Parisian ham and cheese scramble, both with copious amounts of coffee.

Best french toast ever

Best french toast ever

What is Parissian ham, anyway?

What is Parissian ham, anyway?

IMG_20140531_132735

Then we made the walk home – with figs in our market totes, bellies full of coffee and yummy food and magnolias still blooming on the trees.

IMG_20140531_121454

Then it was mad studying for me for the rest of the day – so much so that when I looked up from my notes I realized all my charts had “transfer to chattel” instead of “tresspass to chattel”. Dammnit.

Anyways, after getting a late night in (I think I went to bed around 2:30am), I woke up early on Sunday and snuck out of the bedroom to start breakfast. I decided on a Dutch Baby – watch out for the recipe later this week – some bacon, fruit salad with our yummy figs and french press coffee.

IMG_20140601_081811IMG_20140601_082918

Then we went for the week’s groceries, getting some choice products for the week, including groceries in order for me to make:

IMG_20140601_155417

Butter. And buttermilk.

IMG_20140601_160028

Arugula Pesto (for tomorrow’s dinner)

IMG_20140601_160209

Peanut Butter

As well as roast chicken, mashed poatoes, granola, bread and hummus.

My house, suffice it to say, currently smells like heaven.

 

 

How was your weekend?

AmmyB

Leave a Reply

