My Weekend – A 2-Week Long Weekend Recap

This weekend post is actually more of a vacation post: I went to my hometown of Toronto for two weeks to see my much-maligned family, do some wedding things hang with friends and generally lay back before I started the Barbri California Bar course (today!), and with Greencard in hand, set off.

IMG_20140510_182708

My city!

I told my Mother I would be coming late on the Sunday night – missing Mother’s Day by a few hours. Really, I was showing up on Saturday Night, sneaking into the home with the help of my sisters and giving her the surprise of a lifetime in the morning (where I planned to just hang in th kitchen, making waffles and bacon until she woke up)

Instead, goes the way of best laid plans, things changed around, so instead I was ringing the doorbell late Saturday night, scaring my mother who was in her pajamas and announcing my arrival a few hours earlir than intended. Suffice it to say, she was surprised. So much so that she just stared at me from the other side of the door, through the very small crack that was illuminated betweeen the chained door. It was actulaly quite funny – she just kept stating she was in her pajamas.

The parents couldn't believe it!

The parents couldn’t believe it!

As plans change, I then spent the earlier part of Mother’s Day driving over to my Mother’s Mother’s house with breakfast items for a Brunch. We made bacon (I taught my Mom and Grandma the oven method for making crispy bacon), Mom’s famous waffles, fruit salad and the coffee/tea/juice trio. My Grandmother, in case you were wondering, was also pretty surprised that I turned up on her doorstep. In a good way. She hugs pretty hard as it turns out. It will get that way, I guess, if you’re gone for nearly nine months.

I laid out the breakfast.

I laid out the breakfast.

3 generations of females.

3 generations of females.

One sister comes by ...

One sister comes by …

... then the other sneaks in for some bacon ...

… then the other sneaks in for some bacon …

... And we eat!

… And we eat!

Brunch was great – my sisters and my Dad showed up at a more reasonable hour, and the Grandpater was in a pretty good mood, so we ate, we joked around, and it really felt like I hadn’t left none months ago at all – it just felt like a regular Sunday.

After Brunch, we made our way towards my other Grandmother’s house for a late lunch. Unfortunately, my Grandmother had been sick, and so we brought soup for the old ones, and ordered pizzas for ourselves – not the swankiest late Mother’s Day Lunch, but still pretty good. They, too, were surprised and overjoyed to see me – There was much hugging and tears.

IMG_20140511_215236

And then, because we love her, we took my Mom out to Pain Perdu, our friend Evaristo’s new restaurant on Upper Yonge.

Delicious food. Great staff. Wonderful time!

The rest of the week passed (way too quickly) in a blur of meeting up with friends and relatives, shopping for wedding dresses and picking up the Boy from the airport when he finally showed up, and then driving up to the Cottage and enjoying the countryside. There were BBQs, good eats, Bubble Tea and sushi and spring time in Toronto – basically, it was wonderful!

Here’s the photographic evidence:

My sister is graduating! Let's all celebrate!

My sister is graduating! Let’s all celebrate!

Trish made yummy donuts!

Trish made yummy donuts!

That first satisfying slurp ... yum ... missed Bubble Tea

That first satisfying slurp … yum … missed Bubble Tea

New Nova Era Bakery and Cafe at St Clair and Caledonia

New Nova Era Bakery and Cafe at St Clair and Caledonia

Snuggling with Ollie

Snuggling with Ollie

Visiting the Grandparents

Visiting the Grandparents

Timmies!

Timmies!

Cottage!

Cottage!

Happy me.

Happy me.

Cake and coffee. When we go out to the cottage, we really ruff it out.

Cake and coffee. When we go out to the cottage, we really ruff it out.

Bonfire

Bonfire

Ice cream!

Ice cream!

So much yum

So much yum

My favourite highway stop!

My favourite highway stop!

This cow has been around since I was a toddler ... Still Moos

This cow has been around since I was a toddler … Still Moos

Tornado time!

Tornado time!

My Mom makes Natas for a BBQ

My Mom makes Natas for a BBQ

Meanwhile, I balled some melons and ...

Meanwhile, I balled some melons and …

... chopped up some veggies for kebobs

… chopped up some veggies for kebobs

We also made chocolate mousse

We also made chocolate mousse

While my Dad BBQed

While my Dad BBQed

Meet: Our Venue

Meet: Our Venue

Right in the heart of my City

Right in the heart of my City

I also took some time for a date with my goddaughter - she thought a macaroon would be a fun idea.

I also took some time for a date with my goddaughter – she thought a macaroon would be a fun idea.

We went to Butter Avenue. So yum.

We went to Butter Avenue. So yum.

Doesn't she look adorable in her uniform? So proud of her :)

Doesn’t she look adorable in her uniform? So proud of her ๐Ÿ™‚

Cappuccino for after lunch out with friends.

Cappuccino for after lunch out with friends.

My Mom's overflowing cup after dress shopping.

My Mom’s overflowing cup after dress shopping.

Oh yeah, we totally got a dress, too. Here's a preview.

Oh yeah, we totally got a dress, too. Here’s a preview.

The Girls awaited my arrival.

The Girls awaited my arrival.

Then I had a Girls' Lunch with my Mom and Sisters.

Then I had a Girls’ Lunch with my Mom and Sisters.

And helped decorate a cake

And helped decorate a cake

Said Adieu to the grandparents

Said Adieu to the grandparents

Oh - and I found my old agenda for 2004. Oh boy ...

Oh – and I found my old agenda for 2004. Oh boy …

All in all – a great time spent in my hometown!

ย 

 


How were your last two weeks?

AmmyB

Leave a Reply

