Throwback Thursday: Carnaval circa 1989

When I was little, carnaval – the weekend before lent – was always a big deal.

You would dress up like second Halloween and go to a hall to dance, eat and socialize.

It was so much fun.

I remember my dad was a ghost once – he had draped a big sheet over himself with tire marks on it. Guess we know what happened with that ghost …

And my Mom, this same year, was a salsa dancer – all sparkly black and red rhinestones and glitter.

Even my serious grandfather dressed up in my grandmother’s clothes, with fake breasts and a wig for carnaval.

We should definitely bring it back as a thing.

1989 - Carnavaal - Amanda as Rainbow Brite

Points for anyone who can guess who I am for carnaval!

Leave a Reply

