My (long) Weekend – January 21 2014

Hello darling readers – I had a jam-packed weekend!

Let me tell you all about it:

On Friday night, we made pizzas for dinner and watched Gentlemen Prefer Blondes.

IMG_00001007

Sorry for the picture quality – my phone lens was foggy apparently.

Yes, our pizzas were heart shaped, or at least reasonable fascimiles of heart shapes.

Wine, too.

Wine, too.

On Saturday, the Boy went off to race in the desert somewhere, and I did something much cooler – I met FABIO (THE Fabio) at Whole Foods on Wilshire!

So much swoon!

So much swoon!

Twelve year old me was swooning! Seriously. I have been reading romance novels with his painted chest on the cover for decades now. To meet him was pretty damned awesome. And he’s so sweet! So warm – so bloody strong …

On Saturday, the Boy’s Mum also arrived for a visit/job thing, so we got to hang out with her this weekend – which included a dinner at Zengo‘s at Santa Monica Place on Saturday night, before my poor Love collapsed into a bed early (having gotten up at 5am to make it to the track on time).

Then, Sunday, we were off to my favourite locale: Santa Barbara.

Lazy day by the pier.

Lazy day by the pier.

We did the pier (of course we did!) and then the Artisan market that sets up along the beach, all these beautiful stalls with tables set out with all manner of pretty things – jewlery, scarves, pottery, even a patio set made out of old wine barrels (I really want it … really).

Beautiful scarves and necklaces. I got a mint coloured scarf

Beautiful scarves and necklaces. I got a mint coloured scarf

We also found a rock to commemorate the “discovery” of Santa Barbara  – and the guy was Portuguese! Chalk up one for my homeboys!

Just waiting to be seen by me.

Just waiting to be seen by me.

My MIL even found the man who made a train for the Love of my Life when he was a baby – she bought it at this same market twenty-six years ago. So cool!

Patrick Keen of Keen Toys - where Children are the batteries!

Patrick Keen of Keen Toys – where Children are the batteries!

Then we stopped at the Santa Barbara Brewery for some lunch and, of course, to watch the first of two really disappointing football games. All I can say is that I hope the Peyton Mannings crush the Seahawks with no mercy at the Superbowl. Go Broncos!

This did not work. I want my penny back!

This did not work. I want my penny back!

Monday morning we made french toast from day-old Challah bread, with some turkey bacon, eggs and fruit salad to go along with it.

Brunch is served!

Brunch is served!

Yummy.

Maple syrup, guys ... so yum

Maple syrup, guys … so yum

Monday was also Martin Luther King Jr day and in LA that meant parades and general jubilee. The traffic, however, was insane. We were able to get to Hollywood which was packed, but allowed me to run a few errands, and snap a couple of pictures of a place I’d only ever driven by.

There was a line of girls waiting to put their hands in the indentations.

There was a line of girls waiting to put their hands in the indentations.

Marilyn Monroe.

IMG_00001076

Shirley Temple.

IMG_00001098

Barbara, the Amazing, Streisand.

IMG_00001100

Unfortunately, the Mary Poppins sing along ended yesterday 😦

IMG_00001109

For lunch, we had some CPK and a great view of the Hollywood sign.

IMG_00001103

When my sister and her boyfriend come visit next month, I know the best place to park too!

And then the Boy and I went home, watched the TWO HOUR season finale of Sleepy Hollow. Without any spoilers: Oh My Word – I was caught up in the twists – like seriously, I always anticipate twists. These twists were just amazing! (The Boy was less than impressed though). I cannot wait for the next season!

So, that was my weekend – how was yours?

AmmyB

Leave a Reply

