Royal Scones and My Weekend

This weekend I spent a lot of time looking around online, trying to improve my meager computer skills. I have plans for 2014, for the blog in 2014, and I intend to follow them through … even if it gives me a headache …

Also! Reminder: Tomorrow is the RELEASE DAY for Wicked Designs – the new ebook from my friend, Lauren Smith! Please go check out the Amazon link and support a brave new voice in the historical romance genre! My review of the book is here, and you can get more info on Lauren’s website, here.  Also, here is the Trailer, I forgot to include on my review post, so enjoy!:

That being said, I couldn’t just sit at my computer all weekend – it’s not in my nature. So here’s my weekend in cell phone pictures:

IMG_00000856

Two coffee related things: first, using this tutorial, I turned a plane ol’ boring white cappucino mug into the gold-polka-dotted beauty above. Second, using Christmas money, we decided (okay, I badgered until I got my way) to get an espresso machine! It’s simple, but it gets the job done! Isn’t it grand?

IMG_00000855

And after I figured out what all the parts did and how to use my coffee grinder, and a host of other things, I settled in for some writing with a latte of my own creation!

IMG_00000858

Saturday was an errand day that was capped brilliantly by a trip to Little Tokyo in Downtown LA. We stumbled upon this wonderful community on New Years day when we were craving waffles, and the holiday made it so that there was no traffic, so a trip to downtown LA was in the books. We found the Four Leaf Tea & Crepes on 2nd Street, and had the most delicious Japanese street crepes. Yummy.

Mine was called Garden of Eden. It had brie cheese.

Mine was called Garden of Eden. It had brie cheese.

Seriously, so yum.

IMG_00000849

Brie. Berries. AND whipped cream. Heaven.

The day we were there was a festival day and there was a large gathering with delicious food, amazing dancing groups and even a kendo demonstration. All in all it was a great new years day and, since we filled up on Japanese street crepes, we decided to come back for sushi on the weekend. So … we did.

IMG_00000863

I love Little Tokyo.

IMG_00000865

At night it is just so beautiful. And it reminds me of home – Toronto, that is. The sidewalks are crowded, the stores all have their own music that filters out onto the street, and people mingle about, flitting in and out of the way.  There was even a guy with a cat on his head. No Joke. I should have taken a picture. The teenagers in front of me were taking pictures …

IMG_00000866

Sunday, the Boy wanted to do football all day.  So I was all like …

So bored I am drawing things I find on the internet ...

So bored I am drawing things I find on the internet …

And watching The Boondock Saints and working on the blog, before going out to Trader Joe’s for pineapple and frozen veggies to make Pineapple Fried Rice.

IMG_00000874

Success! It was the best I have made! And I have tried making good Pineapple Fried Rice a bajillion times with mediocre success! It’s all in the fish oil, and the less juice of the pineapple that sits on the wok, I think …

IMG_00000873

But before the rice, the sketching and the blogging, I found a recipe online for Royalty scones. So this morning …

IMG_00000869

Here’s the recipe:

English Royalty Scones

Adapted from All Recipes

  • 1 3/4 C. flour
  • 1/3 C. sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 5 tbsp unsalted butter, chilled and cubed
  • Handful or so of dark chocolate chips
  • 3 tbsp orange juice

Directions

First – Oven to 350F, and butter a cookie sheet up.

1. whisk together the first four ingredients (flour, sugar, powder and salt). Then toss in the cubed cold butter and start immersing it together with a knife, a fork, or if you’re equipped with one, a pastry cutter. Do this until the stuff in the bowl is a crumbly mess. Then add in your chocolate chips and mix them around until they’re about evenly dispersed, and then add your orange juice. mixing it until it comes together like a dough.

2. Form dough into a disk, and cut it into wedges (I made 4, but I could have easily made 8)

3. To the oven, for 10-15 minutes, or until that golden brown colour that means it’s ready.

I know, what you’re thinking: Orange Juice? But trust – it works out. Next time I make these, I think I will go for a smaller amount of chocolate. I was ambushed by the chocolate-loving Boy at a critical moment, and more chips went into the dough than I had wanted … ah well. You live, you learn – you try again!

IMG_00000868

All in all, a great scone recipe – super simple, and the thing you need to really remember about scones is: the colder the butter, the flakier the scone!

With that said, how was your weekend?

Cheers!

AmmyB

Leave a Reply

