Recipe: Toad in the Hole

There are times, I fear, I become quite the Anglophile.

I watch my British dramas, usually crying my eyes out, and pick up British slang to fling at the Boy when he’s being naughty and develop an unhealthy obsession with hats and tartan, that inevitably ends with me drinking tea and laughing through Bridget Jones or Love, Actually or really any British comedy. Especially if Colin Firth is in it.

I was lucky enough to visit merry old England in 2008 – The Boy and I had just graduated from our respective universities and we hopped on a plane to scour the other side of the pond for ten days. We mainly stayed in and around London, but also ventured to Bath, Salisbury and Stonehenge. Next time I would love to venture even farther afield – Brighton, Manchester, Scotland and Wales.

me in a phonebox

Anyways, when I am on this side of the Atlantic, I tend to get wistful. And so I make something British. I have the books for it – Lorraine Pascale and Nigella Lawson, but last year I picked up the Domestic Sluttery book – from the website Domestic Sluttery – and in it are some great recipes that are very British.

toad in the hole - 1

Enter, Toad in the Hole.

IMG_00000208

AKA sausages in an egg bake. Yum.

So yesterday, I decided to make it. For my very picky life partner.

IMG_00000210

Essentially, what you do is grab a bowl, sift a cup of flour into it, salt, pepper and some thyme – then make a well in the middle and crack 4 eggs into the void. While stirring, start pouring a cup of milk into it, slowly – until all of it is a mostly homogeneous batter. Stick it in the fridge and turn to your sausages. Grab 4 to 6 sausages (ours were applewood chicken sausages from Trader Joe’s) and lay them down on your casserole dish with 2 or so tablespoons of vegetable oil. The oven should be on and preheated to a warm 425F, and you just stick in the casserole dish for 15 minutes. After the 15 minutes are up, just pull it out, pour out the batter over top, and stick it in again for a further 35 min (mine was in for 40 minutes). Take it out, let it cool and then serve!

Oh right, it can puff right up. Consider yourself forewarned.

IMG_00000213

The Boy liked it too! He slathered it in ketchup, sure – but he liked it as much as he liked my chilli, which was his favourite food until last night!

Super yummy treat! Tell me how yours turns out!

Cheers!

AmmyB

Leave a Reply

