10 Posts to Hallowe’en: Post 3, Pumpkin Spiced everything

I am celebrating as much as I can for Hallowe’en – and that means here on the blog too! So I present to you, my lovelies, the 10 Posts to Hallowe’en !

Each post will highlight a particular part of the Hallowe’en season I enjoy immensely and wish to share with everyone.

Please feel free to participate by commenting below!

Pumpkin Spiced Everything


Yes, yes – I know that you know that everything these days is all about pumpkin spice everything. Lattes, muffins, cinnamon buns and butter. And it is delicious, what is a girl to do when she’s jonesing for some pumpkin-y coffee and Starbucks is too far/you’re too lazy to go? Oh right, you surf the internet until you find a recipe…

So without further ado: Pumpkin Spice Latte, made at home.

enjoy with hummingbird bread ...

enjoy with hummingbird bread …

Pumpkin Spice Latte

adapted from Handle the Heat

1 c. coconut milk
2 tbsp pumpkin puree (or more or less – how pumpkin-y do you want it?)
1 tbsp brown sugar
1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice (or a blend of cinnamon and nutmeg)
1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
1/2 c. hot brewed strong coffee or espresso
Ground cinnamon to top

(1) In small saucepan, combine milk, puree, sugar, spice, and vanilla over M-H heat and bring to a boil – remember not to stop stirring or you’ll burn it – trust me. To get thee milk frothy you can whisk it vigourously – which is a great arm workout, or you can use a frother like this one. Pour coffee into a fancy mug. Pour frothy milk substance over top. Sprinkle on some cinnamon.

(2) Drink up.

And here is a helpful video if that’s the way you learn, I found it very helpful:

Tell me how your Halloween-y pumpkin spice latte turns out! I am drinking mine tonight while I watch myself some Vincent Price movie madness ….

Cheers!

AmmyB

Leave a Reply

