31 Years Ago Today …

… my folks got hitched.

Yes, that is my Father's weird mustache that remained with them until my middle sister was born ...

Yes, that is my Father’s weird mustache that remained with them until my middle sister was born …

They met at work or at a Portuguese dance hall depending on which one you ask, and there may or may not have been an incident where a certain person who denies it fell on the dancefloor, but it’s been so long that no one actually remembers it …

1371588_10151640932621638_846253316_nOctober 2nd, 1982.

Then my parentals decided to have kids – they had me, decided I was such a good baby (read: cholicy, never slept, bald until the age of 2!) that they would have another (The Blond!) ,… and then another (The Baby!) .

Every year for their anniversary, they would take us all to Niagara Falls.

To see the view – we never actually did any of the fun things at Niagara, just walked up and down the sidewalk that overlooked the falls.

Oh, and then had lunch at Swiss Chalet, because … well if you knew my family you wouldn’t have to ask.

Posed shot, but still kind of cute.

Posed shot, but still kind of cute.

Then they were married 25 years … so my sisters and I threw them a party at a swanky restaurant with some close friends and family.

Such lucky parents.

Yep, we got them a cake too.

Yep, we got them a cake too.

And then last year, my sisters and I took them out to another fancy restaurant for the big 3-0.

Aged pretty good, haven't they?

Aged pretty good, haven’t they?

And this year … Well, I am sure my parents have opted to go to Niagara Falls, this time without kids, to share in the romance of it … oh and the wineries.

Happy Anniversary Parents!

Love

AmmyB

One thought on “31 Years Ago Today …

  1. Very well said Amanda……….but to set the record straight…… nobody fell on the dance floor…..

    Anyway the best of all is that that we have three lovely, lets not forget, spoiled rotten daughters that we love so very very much.

    Cheers!!

Leave a Reply

