Hot Sauce and Blue Cheese: Buffalo Chicken Casserole

I am not usually a casserole person.

Maybe it’s because casseroles weren’t a huge thing for me when I was growing up, or because I meticulously seperated each section of my meal (peas to one side, potatoes to the other, etc.) until I was in my early twenties, but casseroles had never held an appeal for me.

2013-09-20 18.16.51But then I moved out of my mother’s house, started working and still wanted to have fresh made foods, and I found that there were two ways to do this when my day has been long and hard and all I want is something quick: my slow cooker; or, a pre-made casserole that I stuck in the freezer.

And, as much as I love my slow cooker (seriously, slow cooker chicken and slow cooker chilli is probably a reason to live!) there are times where it just doesn’t hack it.

And so I turned to casseroles and bakes.

And found this recipe. So with a few tweaks I present you my Bufalo Chicken Casserole:

2013-09-20 18.16.54

Buffalo Chicken Casserole

Ingredients

  • 2 cups water
  • 1 cup uncooked quinoa
  • 2 cups chopped broccoli florets
  • 2 small cooked chicken breast, shredded
  • 1 tbsp flour
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup shredded smoked gouda cheese
  • 3/4 cup shredded medium cheddar cheese
  • 1/4 cup butter, melted
  • 1/2 cup Frank’s Red Hot
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  • 1/4 cup crumbled Gorgonzola cheese
  • fresh cilantro & spring onions, chopped, for garnish

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Prepare your casserole dish.
  2. Rinse and cook quinoa as directed. I prefer using equal parts chicken broth to water for mine, but it’s really up to you. Once quinoa is boiling in your broth/water, reduce to Medium- Low heat and add broccoli to the top – resist the urge to stir it in. Cover and walk away for 15 minutes or so.
  3. Remove from heat and walk away again for 5 minutes. Then take a fork and fluff quinoa, mixing the broccoli into it as you go. Add chicken, too.
  4. Heat a medium saucepan over medium heat. Add the 2 tablespoons of butter, wait until it melts and starts bubbling then add the flour. Whisk it until golden. Add the milk, turn the heat to low and stir until milk thickens.  Add in the Gouda and half of the cheddar cheese, stirring until smooth. Once smooth, take off from the heat and add in the 1/4 melted butter, hot sauce, seasoned salt and pepper.
  5. Take the quinoa mixture and pour the sauce over it, mixing well. Once thoroughly mixed, pour entire mixture into your prepared dish, and top with remaining cheddar cheese.
  6. Bake for 10-15 minutes. When your timer goes off, switch on the broiler and broil for 2-3 minutes or until cheese is golden and bubbly.
  7. Take out your dish, top with your cilantro, your cheese bits and your spring onions.

Try it out and tell me what you think!

Anyone with any good casseroles or bakes for me to try out?

Cheers

 

 

Leave a Reply

