Poking Yourself in the Eye: Confessions of a Former Nail Biter

Oh yes, I thought to myself for the millionth time. I can do this. I can stop the biting.

And then I didn’t.

So many times, so many years of being unable to stop myself. Of trying so hard only to realize that my nail has snapped between my teeth as I was nibbling on it, deep in thought, staring at a computer screen or listening to my sisters complain about my mother (or vice versa).

And then, last May, I had it.

It begun when I was traveling to Boston. Rest stops and food – that’s what did it. I had to go to the bathroom in the middle of New York State – suffice it to say, no person should have to go to the bathroom at that particular place. Anyway, I washed my hands with scalding water, thought about taking a huge roll of paper towels with me wherever I went there, and cringed at the thought that everything in the place was covered in grime – from car exhausts and dropped food and sweaty palms …

I suddenly had no desire to put my hands in my mouth, Like, none.

No appetite for it. Ha ha. 

So they started growing. 

And breaking, 

That’s what all those smug people who have always had long nails omit telling you – your nails will be weak. Brittle and weak and malshaped. 

And then my little sister showed me this:

2013-07-26 14.20.13

Essie Nail Treatment.

Anyways, now I can do this:

2013-06-27 16.04.34And this:

2013-07-11 17.33.35And oh, this one will be next:

Now, I feel stronger, too. I still have cravings, catch myself with a finger in my mouth when in really deep thought, but more and more I can resist – and that’s a wonderful feeling 🙂

Do any of you guys have issues with nail biting?

AmmyB

Leave a Reply

