What the Heck is a Pomelo and how does one go about eating it?

A valid question, dear reader!

According to Wiki, a pomelo is a “crisp citrus fruit native to South and Southeast Asia”. Until my local Longo’s advertised it in its “Try this!” section of the flyer, I didn’t know what it was – but as soon as I saw the gargantuan insanity that was a pomelo up close, I decided I had to try it …

It looks like an odd and citrus-y watermelon …

Like look at it!

So I bought one. Though mine is much more yellow than it is green.

According to a website I found while googling “How to Eat a Pomelo”, you first peel and section the rind, then wash and enjoy its yummy frangrance before stuffing it into your face with a feeling of deep happiness.

Or so it’s been said.

According to My Vegan Kitchen, the pomelo is the largest of citrus fruits, and is slightly remiscent of grapefruit in flavour.

I personally, want to juice it with a couple of Cara Cara oranges and a lemon, and maybe some mint that I have in my kitchen right now …

Hm … Be right back …

Smoothie: Pomelo, Mango, Strawberry with Agave Syrup in Raspberry

Smoothie: Pomelo, Mango, Strawberry with Agave Syrup in Raspberry

Yum.

My Pomelo was yellow and the insides were of a sunset pink/orange variety and yes, it channels a grapefruit quite well. And though I read the skin would be thick … I mean, look at this:

This looks like a slice of honeydew melon ...

This looks like a slice of honeydew melon …

I was taken aback by how thick it was, particularly when I looked back at the fruit itself:

It reminds me of little tiny children in huge snowsuits ...

It reminds me of little tiny children in huge snowsuits …

Whatever else it is … it is an interesting fruit!

I would recommend this to anyone on the grapefruit bandwagon – if you like that strange mixture of sweet and sour that is inherent of the grapefruit, then by all means, load up on the pomelo. The drawbacks are, of course, they are expensive (up here in Toronto they run about 2 for $5), but if you’re going to go pick one up, look for heavier ones (the lighter ones are usually dried out) with a bright hue to the skin.

Here’s my “recipe” (read: I threw whatever I had in the blender) for this moothie:

  • Half a Pomelo
  • Cup of cubed mango, roughly 1 mango
  • handful of frozen strawberries
  • 1 tbsp of Agave (mine was raspberry flavoured)
  • splash or two of almond milk
  1. Put into blender. Blend. Cup. Enjoy! 🙂

That’s all for me! I am going to be making The Pioneer Woman’s Mom’s Muffins today, which I will enjoy with another round of pomelo-mango smoothie! Yum!

Cheers!

AmmyB

Leave a Reply

