The Yellow Kitchen: Banana Cookies

Hello everyone!

Today was one of those cold-but-sunny days in Toronto, the kind where you have to wear a solid winter coat, but your eyes hurt from the way the sun is reflected in the snow. That being said, everyone and the grocery store seems to be in a spring-mind. Today, as I was walking out of the grocery store, I saw these beautiful tulips and gerberas on sale … so of course, I bought them! How could I not? And look at how lovely they are:

 2013-02-03 15.14.35

These kinds of days are good for two things: coming home with spring flowers, and hanging out outside. Unfortunately, since coming home, I have been stuck here … though I have some chocolate, so it’s not all bad. The sun is still setting too early on these parts, but the Superbowl is on tonight, which ought to be fun – full of friends and me making doe-eyes at that cute QB from San Fran …

Yes. Anyways …

As promised, I have a couple of kitchen and such type things to share – particularly baking things, since I have always loved to bake (part the yumminess, but part the fact that the whole place now smells like Bananas)!

I found this recipe when Pinteresting a while ago, and though I am not sure where it’s from, I am reproducing it acknowledging that it is not wholly my own invention. Around here, we love bananas. So much so that it is the one constant on our shopping list. The Boyfriend is a banana fiend, partly I expect because they’re easy to peel and he’s sorta lazy when it comes to food. In any case, every so often I will attempt to make something banana-y to satisfy our sweettooths.

Enjoy!

Banana Cookies

Makes ~ 30 cookies

Ingredients

  • 3 bananas*
  • ½ Cup nut butter (we used peanut butter)
  • ¼ Cup Veg. oil
  • 1 Tsp Vanilla

    2013-01-15 21.05.17

    Sorry for the cellphone cam quality!

  • 2 Cups Oatmeal (just quick oats are fine)
  • 1/3 Cup Coconut shreds, unsweetened
  • 1Tsp baking powder
  • ¼ tsp EACH of cinnamon and salt
  • 1 Cup Chocolate Chips

Directions

  1. Oven to 350°
  2. Mix the WET ingredients (that’s the bananas, nut butter, oil & vanilla)
  3. In another bowl, mix the DRY ingredients (everything else BUT the chocolate chips)
  4. Now, mix them together – use a good old wooden spoon, like a proper grandmother.
  5. Add chocolate chips and fold it in.
  6. Scoop out balls and put on a buttered (or Spammed, or whatever) baking sheet.
  7. Into the oven for about 12 minutes or so …
  8. … And done! (but allow to cool before you pop one in your mouth … not that there were any burnt tongues over here …)

I hope you enjoyed that simple but yummy banana cookie recipe!

Happy Sunday and Happy Superbowl!

Cheers!

AmmyB

Leave a Reply

